Swept Away by Michelle Dalton #BookReview #Playlist #Giveaway


Swept Away (Sixteenth Summer)
by Michelle Dalton
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: May 5th 2015

Synopsis:

Beachfront love blossoms in this refreshing summer romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

Mandy Sullivan isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer months as tourists invade her seaside hometown on the coast of Maine. Her best friend, Cynthia, has abandoned her for camp and her older brother just announced he’ll be staying at college taking classes for the summer, leaving Mandy with nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Hoping to keep herself busy, Mandy takes a volunteer job at the Rocky Pointe Lighthouse. On her very first day, Oliver Farmingham asks for a private tour. A new—and incredibly cute—face in Rocky Pointe, Oliver seems more interested in Mandy than the lighthouse and its history.

Without her best friend at her side, Mandy is scrambling to act the right way and say the right things when Oliver is around. Cynthia—not Mandy—has always been the confident, flirtatious girl that everyone wanted to be around. As Mandy and Oliver spend more time together exploring the coast, biking through the woods, and attending the local summer festivals, their budding friendship becomes much more. But with Mandy’s insecurities creeping to the surface, can she open her heart to someone who will only be in town for three months?

     

 

Swept Away is that perfect summer read that you can toss into your beach bag.

I’ve been to Maine but never to a touristy area like where the book revolves around. The constant talk of Lobster rolls definitely had me salivating. I loved the setting and I really loved how things kind of revolve around the Lighthouse fondly referred to as Candy Cane. Of course a book that takes place for just a summer is always fun as well.

You don’t realize Mandy’s bad habit of conforming right away. The more she starts hanging out with Oliver you see it. I kept thinking why isn’t she telling him she doesn’t like seafood. She has this insecurity that works in a way that she doesn't put herself down but changes herself to fit in with what she thinks people want her to be. She has an outgoing best friend that it makes it easier for her to it. Being on her own this summer really kind of draws it out and she soon finds out that other people see it even if she doesn’t right away. I feel like this a common thing in life that you don’t see that often in books. It gives her character the opportunity for some big development.

Oliver is so cute and nerdy. I like how into history and absorbing things he is. The fact that he loves make exact replica models makes me laugh.

Mandy and Oliver together are adorable. Going through the ups and downs of their summer relationship. Especially having to deal with the fact that Oliver is going back to California at the end of it.

This is definitely a cute and fun summer read when you are looking for something light and heartwarming. Plus it’s just a great setting and the Lighthouse makes for a great way to round it out.



I'm sorry I jut couldn't get Grease Summer Nights out of my head :) I don't know if it was the Maine setting or what but some old school songs kept calling out to me. 


Michelle Dalton is one of the many names Carla Jablonski uses when writing. Her two YAs written as Carla Jablonski (published by Razorbill/Penguin), Thicker than Water and Silent Echoes, were included on the NYPL Books for the Teen Age list, and her graphic novel trilogy Resistance (illustrated by Leland Purvis, published by :01 Books) has won several awards, including the Sydney Taylor Silver Medal. In addition to writing novels she is an actor, playwright, and former trapeze artist. A native New Yorker, she is eternally grateful to her friends who invite her to their beach houses.





Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

2 comments:

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.