Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom #BookReview #Playlist #Giveaway

Don't Ever Change
by M. Beth Bloom
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 7th 2015

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

     
So Don’t Ever Change is one of those books where at first I was like, I don’t know how I feel about this but then ended up reading the majority of it in one sitting. I became absolutely entranced by Eva and the things she was doing.

Eva’s character is fascinating. You might not like her, you don’t have to like her but as she goes through her last summer, she kind of figures out why you might not like her. Eva does not come out the other side of summer as this completely different person, did any of us, she however starts to see how she might come off to other people. Eva is a writer and she doesn’t like to write what she knows because she thinks life is boring around her. So she’s decided to mix things up and try to be different. The thing is being different isn’t always easy, you are the same person just in different settings. I think it makes her really realize things about herself that she might not have if she stayed in her comfort zone.

Are Eva’s friends jerks, I don’t know. I think it’s the summer before college and they are having a normal friendship separation. Eva is that friend that you are aware of the way they are so ambushing them with a new friend and boyfriend at dinner is not necessarily a good tactic. I remember having a friend in high school that told me she thought it was useless to fight with me because I would never care. That’s kind of how Eva is and I’m pretty sure I grew out of it and I think Eva will too.

Eva’s relationship with boys is this whole other complicated thing. She at first is with this guy Elliott and then he goes on tour. She calls him her boyfriend but I don’t think he really is. Then her writing archenemy is working at the same camp she gets a job at. Suddenly she figures out that people are more than just what they can output on paper. Stories are not necessarily possible or impossible. I like Foster though because he is pretty much mellow through it all. It makes me laugh.

Courtney, Eva’s sister, and the rest of her family are kind of interesting group. You can tell Eva gets her constant joke making from her dad and her mom is just trying to deal with empty nesting. I liked how Courtney was Eva’s Yoda in all life situations. They have a really close relationship that is always good to see.

Sometimes I like books because they make me swoon and sometimes I enjoy a book like this because it makes the gears in my brain follow a different track. I read, I absorb and I think about why is Eva so strange. Yet I can’t quit reading about her and then at the end wondering what’s going to happen to her in college.


Sometimes I make a playlist by really listening to the lyrics of songs. Sometimes it's more a feel. This is more of a feel playlist. :)



M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.

  






Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

4 comments:

  1. I'm excited to read this book because it sounds like a wonderful contemporary!!! Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, I almost did a double-take when I saw the author. It's so different from her 90s vampire fic! It sounds a little trope-y to me, but it also has potential for a fun summer read. Plus, I'm all for making NA (or post YA or whatever) into something more about self-discovery than sex. So I hope this one is great!

    C.J.
    Sarcasm & Lemons

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love your playlist so much. I'm a huge fan of Echosmith. I really enjoyed this book because I found Eva to be relatable. Have a great week!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.