Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey

Title: Carols and Chaos
Author: Cindy Anstey
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: October 9th 2018
Genres: Historical, Romance, Young Adult

A lady's maid and a valet become entangled in a yuletide counterfeiting scheme in this romantic Christmas YA adventure.

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests.

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday shenanigans, Carols and Chaos is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.



Nothing to get you in the Yuletide spirit like a little love and mystery. Carols and Chaos is a fun YA Historical Fiction that falls in line with its predecessors for delivering that good feeling.

So for the me the plot got off on a little bit of slow start. I think we were more focused on the introduction of characters and time for Matt and Kate to become a little more acquainted. Once the mystery started to really shine through the pace picked up and I felt more into the story.

I loved that once we really get into the thick of the mystery, the story was both still suspenseful but fun. There are definitely moments where you think oh no but also has comedy weaved in throughout.

I loved Kate and Matt. They had such a natural chemistry right from the start and their exchanges were both witty and sweet. I also love how Kate is the type of character who knows who she is and just exudes awesomeness out of her pores. I really liked her. Matt is the kind of guy you want to hang out with, like ya that guy, he’s good people.

I love that it’s a historical fiction at Yuletide time. I used to work at a historical village and I loved dressing up and working in the Mansion at Christmas. We would make these awesome orange/clove ball ornaments that made my fingers bleed (pushing whole cloves into oranges is not easy) and the place would be decorated up with the greens. So it reminded me of that and it’s such a great warm feeling.

So this story is a spin-off of Suitors and Sabotage but you do not need to read that to read this. If you are looking for your comfort book for the Holiday this is definitely one I can recommend.

Whenever she is not sitting at the computer, throwing a ball in the backyard, gardening or reading, Cindy can be found–actually, not found–adventuring around the world with her hubby.

She has lived on three continents, had a monkey in her yard and a scorpion under her sink, dwelt among castles and canals, enjoyed the jazz of Beale St and attempted to speak French.

Cindy loves history, mystery and… a chocolate Labrador called Chester.

Website : Facebook : Twitter


XBTBanner1
Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

1 comments:

  1. Great review, Jen! This sounds like a fun, feel good book for the holidays! :) Glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.