Song of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier

Song of the Abyss (Tower of Winds #2)
Author: Makiia Lucier
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: August 27th 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.

Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.

But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors--her captain, her countrymen--have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.

Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?



I loved Isle of Blood and Stone and even though this is the second book in the Tower of Winds series, you don’t need the first in order to read Song of the Abyss. They happen in the same world and some characters make reappearances (which of course makes me smile) but this is Reyna’s story.

I loved the characters! Especially Reyna, Levi and Blaise. I would also like to see more with Vashti in a future book. If there are not going to be anymore books. I would be very very sad.

So Reyna was a little fireball in Isle of Blood and Stone, which she continues here. She’s been studying to be a Master Explorer and doesn’t let her gender get in the way. She’s dealt with some very serious prejudice against her but she still prevails. She has a strong will and won’t let anything get in her way of protecting her maps. Which shows her dedication to her work.

I love the interactions between her and Levi. Levi is a Captain of his own ship but also second born son to the King of Lunes. In his country, the oldest his heir and it doesn’t matter if you are a boy or girl. So his sister Vashti takes up the throne when their father passes away. You kind of expect him to be either rough or snotty. He is neither and his actually very kind and even a little sensitive. He cares greatly about his crew and works hard as captain of his ship. The way he treats Reyna is so cute at times. Even though their little romance is not a main focus of the story, it’s very sweet and the perfect amount to dose you with.

The plot is great. Crews of ships are going missing and nobody knows why but there is suspicion that they might be taken for the human trafficking. Reyna is sent to investigate with the help of Levi. I really enjoyed the mystery behind the story and where it would take us. As pieces fall together, I’m like I know. I know what is happening and I am itching to tell someone. I wish I was buddy reading because I really want to tell someone and then I thought about how clever it was.

So Miramar and the Miranese are a very interesting culture and I like the way their world was built. We know they are isolated and that it reminded me of the first emperor of China’s domain. Especially something in particular……. So I really enjoyed getting not only to see Miramar but a little bit of Lunes too. Again we need another book to explore more!!!!

I really loved Song of the Abyss. I recommend both books, but of course you can read either alone.


Makiia is the author of historical fiction and historical fantasy for young adults. She grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam (not too far from the equator), and has degrees in journalism and library science from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Her debut novel, A Death-Struck Year, was called a "powerful and disturbing reading experience" by Publishers Weekly, and was a finalist for Germany's top book prize for children, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis. Her second novel, Isle of Blood and Stone, was inspired by her love of Indiana Jones movies and old, old maps.

She lives with her family in North Carolina.

Website : Twitter : Instagram : Facebook

GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win (1) of (3) finished copies of SONG OF THE ABYSS by Makiia Lucier (US Only)

Starts: 21st August 2019
Ends: 4th September 2019
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.