Stormrise by Jillian Boehme

Title: Stormrise
Author: Jillian Boehme
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: September 10th 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dragons

Synopsis:

A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme's epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training—and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom’s victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries . . . and someone must awaken them to fight once more.



Stormrise is a quick paced Mulan-esque fantasy that of course has Dragons!

Rain lives in a world where women are expected to marry and be homemakers. Not soldiers or fighters but she does not want to fall into this mold of what is expected of her gender. Rain trains with her father as a Neshu fighter. A specialized type of fighting that she wishes to become a grandmaster of one day but can’t. When the Nomads begin to invade and each household is expected to send someone to serve. Rain chooses to take the place of her father and her twin brother Storm in order to protect them by pretending to be Storm. The thing I love about Rain is how selfless and disciplined she is. Not on a surface level either, she truly is willing to sacrifice herself for the greater good without question. She is also a strong and fierce fighter and a true Neshu grandmaster in her heart.

The worldbuilding is mostly battlefields but it’s the history that is rich in the story. Ylanda is a nation that was once protected by fierce Dragons. Due to human greed, however, the Dragons went into slumber until their time to be called again. As time passes the Dragons slip into being nothing more than myths, with the exception of some villages who still hold fast in the belief of them. As Rain uncovers the true history, I really enjoyed learning about them and the part they play as part of Ylanda. From the way their existence changed and the use of their magic.

The action is very fast paced and keeps on moving. I thought all the fighting and battle scenes were well plotted in order to keep your interest without being too much.

I loved seeing Rain and her comrades at arms learn and grow from the recruits they start out as. The romance is there but light and does not draw too much from the story. I also really enjoyed the writing.

The dragons!! Again I loved the history of the dragons and Rain’s special bond with them.

Stormrise is a great standalone that is a fast paced read. Enjoyable for fantasy lovers!


JILLIAN BOEHME is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark's First Victim, a blog for aspiring authors. In real life, she holds a degree in Music Education, sings with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, and homeschools her remaining youngster-at-home. She's still crazy in love with her husband of more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee.

Website : Twitter : Facebook : Instagram

GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win (1) of (4) finished copies of STORMRISE by Jillian Boehme (US/CAN Only)
Starts: 10th September 2019
Finishes: 24th September 2019
a Rafflecopter giveaway



INSTAGRAM GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win a finished copy of STORMRISE by Jillian Boehme (US/CAN Only)
https://www.instagram.com/theffbc/

Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

1 comments:

  1. What do you think about STORMRISE? Will you be adding it to your TBR?
    What's your favourite YA genre?

    As fantasy is my favorite YA genre, along with a special place in my heart for dragons, I will be placing this in my TBR. I look forward to reading this novel. Best wishes on your new release.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.