Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk #BookReview #Playlist #Giveaway @The_FFBC

Arrows
by Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: January 26th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Mythology, Retellings, Romance, Fiction

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Arrows is very unique teen love story that takes the story of Eros. Well Eros son and what the consequences of dealing in others love lives can bring. It also really takes a look at what we are willing to do for love, even if it means loving someone who doesn’t deserve it.

I have to say that I am really impressed there is a teen mom in the book. I know it says it in the synopsis but I sometimes don’t reread those before I start reading. I was actually thinking about it the other day when I was walking in the halls of the high school that it’s nothing that comes up as much as I sometimes think it should. I was glad that they were able to portray Karma’s struggle with being a mom, being a teen and dealing with her daughter's father.

Karma has been shot with an arrow from cupid, her boyfriend Danny has not. Thus a great contrast in their feelings for eachother. Even though the reason for Karma to be stuck in this situation is the arrow, I’ve known girls who have been in similar situations. Where they put up with more than they need to for the name of love or because they want a family for their kids. I’ve felt like Peyton does where you don’t want to push your friend away by telling them their significant other sucks. You really want them to be happy. Arrows definitely captures all these angles and perspectives.

Aaryn is the a cupid who gets sent down to the mortal realm in order to fix his mistake. He has the right balance of confusion and understanding. He has observed humans his whole life so he’s not completely in the dark about how they interact but certain sayings and slang he’s oblivious too. He’s a genuinely good guy with a sense of humor.

The plot is so fast paced, you could easily read this in one night. The only thing that I was kind of unhappy with was the ending. I felt like I needed a little more about someone got from point a to point b. It felt like it could have added a couple chapters for that.

The romance is cute and also kind of interesting because you know that Karma's chained to Danny in a way. So she has a definite road block up, it’s interesting to see how it plays out when they are fighting against a current.

I really liked this book and it’s definitely a quick unique read. I wish the ending had a little bit more but I did enjoy that plot and the characters. So I say pick it up if you are looking for a little unique romance.

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Her debut novel ARROWS is being published by Delacorte Press on January 26, 2016. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson.

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | TWITTER | FACEBOOK



Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

3 comments:

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.