Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
Author: Tara Sim
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Release Date: January 7th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.



Scavenge the Stars is a riveting story that will keep you enthralled until the very end. I couldn’t stop reading until all the cards had been dealt.

Amaya has lead a hard life on a debtors prison ship. Suffering from abuse and just trying to find a way to survive. She can’t wait for the day when she can finally seek revenge for all that she has endured. I really liked Amaya as a character. Even though she is set on revenge she is also strong and still has a conscience. I think she spends a lot of the book trying to reconcile that different parts of herself. From her past, debtors ship, to who she is presently. I liked seeing her character change as she finds out that nothing is as it seems and things definitely can take a more complicated twist.

Cayo has his own demons. Fighting against addiction that once consumed him, he struggles to stay on the right path. He wants to though for her sister and for himself. He definitely is not quite there yet. When we meet Cayo he is repentive for his selfish and reckless ways. It’s interesting to join his character arc in a different spot. More like from the middle instead of the end.

I also enjoyed a side character Romara. I’m not sure if we will see more of her but I loved how clever she was. More so than she let on.

The plot is really intriguing with many twists and turns. At first I felt like it had a bit of slow start but I think it might have just been my reading impatience because once I made it to the third chapter it felt like everything flew by. It was definitely a quick read. I loved as the mystery unraveled to reveal a plot that goes beyond just Amaya and Cayo. There are still many unanswered questions as we end the book but it felt wrapped up enough that you not felt left hanging too badly.

I really enjoyed Scavenge the Stars and I can’t wait to see what unfolds for the story in next the book.

Tara Sim is the author of SCAVENGE THE STARS (Disney-Hyperion) and the TIMEKEEPER trilogy (Sky Pony Press) and writer of all things magic. She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California.

When she’s not writing about mischievous boys in clock towers, Tara spends her time drinking tea, wrangling cats, and occasionally singing opera. Despite her bio-luminescent skin, she is half-Indian and eats way too many samosas.

Tara is represented by Victoria Marini at Irene Goodman Literary Agency.

Name pronunciation: “tar-ah” (not “terr-ah”).

Website : Twitter : Facebook : Instagram


PRE-ORDER CAMPAIGN
Prize details:
• Original 9x12 Art piece from Alex Castellanos (@alexisc_art)
• 3 exclusive SCAVENGE THE STARS character cards
• Exclusive SCAVENGE THE STARS book mark
• Signed Bookplate from author Tara Sim
Submit Here


GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win finished copy of SCAVENGE THE STARS by Tara Sim (US Only)

Starts: 1st January 2020
Ends: 15th January 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment