Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross

Sisters of Sword and Song
Author: Rebecca Ross
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 23rd 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.


Sisters of Sword and Song was enjoyable standalone fantasy story.

I like that the heart of the story is really about family. Blood relation or not, I loved reading the bond between the characters. It really shaped their actions and how they reacted to one another. Even in their worst moments.

I did really enjoy the plot. This is a land of magic and myths Some are blessed with powers and others are not. Halcyon and Evadne are descended from the God Kirkos who became mortal when he fell in love. So their chances of having any magical abilities are slim to none. They find other ways to shine. Halcyon in her ability to be a warrior. Evadne in her wisdom and loyalty. The sisters are put to the test in each of their own ways.

I really liked Evadne. She in a way is just considered average. Yet she has this well of strength that nobody really expects. I liked her character development in the story. How she stays strong no matter what is placed in front of her. Fueled by her love of her sister and her family. I think it’s interesting that Kirkos' fall was because of love and considered a weakness. When it appears to be his ancestors greatest asset.

Halcyon is also kind of interesting because she is the sister that seems to have everything. Yet she loses so much in the story. I didn’t feel as bonded with her character as much as Evadne but I still appreciated her.

The romance is light and cute. I really liked the little bit it added but that it wasn’t a main focus.

I enjoyed this as a standalone fantasy. I liked the strong family roots and the plot steeped it’s own mythology.

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor's degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.

Website : Twitter : Facebook : Instagram






Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment