The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The Kinder Poison (The Kinder Poison #1)
Author: Natalie Mae
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: June 16th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

Zahru has long dreamed of leaving the kingdom of Orkena and having the kinds of adventures she’s only ever heard about in stories. But as a lowly Whisperer, her power to commune with animals means that her place is serving in the royal stables until the day her magic runs dry.

All that changes when the ailing ruler invokes the Crossing: a death-defying race across the desert, in which the first of his heirs to finish—and take the life of a human sacrifice at the journey’s end—will ascend to the throne and be granted unparalleled abilities.

With all of the kingdom abuzz, Zahru leaps at the chance to change her fate if just for a night by sneaking into the palace for a taste of the revelry. But the minor indiscretion turns into a deadly mistake when she gets caught up in a feud between the heirs and is forced to become the Crossing’s human sacrifice. Zahru is left with only one hope for survival: somehow figuring out how to overcome the most dangerous people in the world.


I loved The Kinder Poison. I was addicted from the minute I started reading and I just could not put it down. I felt like I didn’t know what would happen to Zahru up until the end.

I loved everything about this story. The plot is so fast paced and a villain isn’t just a villain. The characters all have their moments where they balance the line. I loved how well we get time with each of the heirs as Zahru becomes a part of the race. It’s not just the race that is the focus of the story. We find that tensions are rising outside of the kingdom as well.

I like Zahru a lot because she doesn’t have all the answers. She has what is considered a lesser magic. By being a Whisperer she is able to talk to animals. I thought that's pretty cool magic personally. I don’t think she really gets to test its full limits in the story though but that’s just my assessment. Ha ha. I loved the undercurrent of the story that does center around Zahru and who she is besides her magic.

I loved their three heirs because they all have their own strengths and weaknesses. Jet is kind but he also seems to have this complex that makes him often feel like he needs to step back and let others shine. Kasta is cruel but also has more to his story, more to him. Sakira is charismatic and seems reckless but also wants to help her people. That’s just the heirs, not counting their companions who all have varying personalities. They really pull the story together, we get to know them all and I loved how each one can make an impact on someone else.

I really loved The Kinder Poison and I can not wait to see what the next book has in store. There are a few different things that are going to be at play. I want to see where this journey for Zahru goes.

Natalie Mae is an ex-programmer, dessert enthusiast, and author of young adult novels. She has also been a freelance editor and Pitch Wars mentor, and feels it notable to mention she once held a job where she had to feed spiders.

She now writes full-time at home with a bag of dark chocolates in one hand and a leopard cat on her lap. She is most definitely not checking Instagram right now.

Website : Goodreads : Twitter : Instagram





Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment