Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen #BookReview #Playlist #Giveaway

FFBC Juible Manor Blog Tour
Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2)
by Bethany Hagen
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: August 11th 2015
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, andPride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed "Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.

     

Book 1
Jubilee Manor picks up right after Landry Park. We are seeing a shift in politics that trickles down to everyone quality of life and state of being. I like how we are now in the reconstruction mode and the struggles that come along with that. We also have a bit of a mystery going on as the gentry heirs are suddenly being knocked off. Madeline powers through and shows us what it really means to be a Landry.

The thing I found most interesting about Landry Park and Jubilee Manor is their take on the typical dystopian novel. Normally we would be reading in the perspective of the oppressed rather than the oppressor. Landry Park was about the Rootless finding their freedom but we saw through the eyes of someone in the gentry. I thought that was an interesting take. Also in Jubilee Manor where other dystopias often end, with and we are free and are going to start rebuilding. Jubilee Manor actually takes on the struggle of rebuilding after gaining your freedom. It takes us past that ending you often see. I think the blurb on the first book mentions Gone With the Wind and you can definitely see some of that spirit injected here as well as history of the Civil War and the Reconstruction era that happened after. Empire is kind of like the carpetbaggers. Of course I say spirit because this is it’s own story.

I really liked what we see in Jubilee Manor as far as reconstruction. Madeline trying to navigate politics with her Uncle Jack but also the the strong family theme that is represented. We see Madeline find common ground with her father. Welcome new family members and even find that Landry Park is a part of her, no matter where she goes. The murder mystery was interesting. I always like a good mystery and I thought there were plenty of viable suspects. It could be anyone which made the reveal great. Sometimes they were take one step forward and two steps back. Of course there is also Madeline and David’s relationship with it’s ups and downs. Personally I was like eh you don’t need him.

I’m not going to lie. I was kind of iffy about David at the end of Landry Park. I just felt like he was kind of a putz and not really reliable. I know that’s not nice but I was almost rooting for Jude, even though I was kind of iffy on him too. So the romance for me in Jubilee Manor was more of a side thing and I think that is how it is portrayed. Madeline is such a strong character with so much going on, I can’t imagine her spending time gushing about her love interest, which she doesn’t. There are definitely cute romantic parts too though. So don’t worry they are in there, for me it wasn’t the focus and I wasn’t worried about it.

I loved Madeline. She is such a great character because she doesn’t make decisions idly but she is also not always right. She is a young girl but she has been raised to be a leader and when push comes to shove. She really takes on the role. I think she finds she is stronger than she even realized she is. She wants to help the rootless but she also has to make her own adjustment to how life is changing. She has lived one way for almost eighteen years, she also needs to change gears. She always tries to be empathetic and compassionate.

I really liked the book and it takes a great combination of dystopia and history, fusing them together. I can’t say which book I liked more but reading them together really makes for a seamless story and since they are both out you can do just that.




Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.

    




Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

3 comments:

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.