Tarnished are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: October 15th 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBT

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher's chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog -- donning the moniker Technician -- to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner's tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner's son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father's respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father's elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner's secrets at any cost -- even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic -- before the Commissioner ends them first.


Tarnished are the Stars mixes Sci-fi, politics and a little bit of space to make this an interesting little mystery. I loved that there are three different characters all seeking approval and finding themselves in different ways to make up their little crew.

I loved the motley crew that Nathaniel, Anna and Eliza make up. When I originally read their were three characters, I was kind of wondering how that would work. I ended up loving all three of them.

Nathaniel comes off as, I don’t want to say weak but he’s looking for validation. He’s suffered emotional and physical abuse from his father, yet he often blames himself for it. He feels like if he was just a little bit better his father would respect him. It’s terrible to read what he goes through and it’s interesting as the story unfolds how pieces fit together to make these characters who they are. Nathaniel finds himself through his friendship and the adventure that the plot gives him.

Anna is another interesting character because she is loving but she is often viewed as emotionally cold. I can relate to her in this respect because I was often described as emotionally dead. It doesn’t mean there isn’t feelings there. Anna has a lot of feelings and does love her family fiercely. It just doesn’t always come out the right way.

Eliza is looking for approval but in a little different way. She is ambitious and is looking to elevate herself in the eyes of the Queen. She’s looking to belong in a whole different way.

I really liked the plot. It wasn’t overly complicated but really enjoyable. We have a new Earth that is in the process of being Terraformed. The idea is to avoid tech that had destroyed the original Earth but without it, people will die. Why they need it becomes the mystery of the settlement versus the outside village, Mecan. As our crew uncovers truths, they find there is a lot more political and personal motivation than meets the eye.

It’s easy to say that when a book is shorter and two characters get together that it’s insta-love. I didn’t feel that way about Anna and Eliza at all. They have the normal initial attraction to one another when they first meet and then by working together they find the attraction go. I don’t think they are walking around acting like they can’t live without each other but I find that they see the potential for greater love down the line. I really liked how the relationship is presented and developing up to the end. Felt very natural.

I really enjoyed Tarnished are the Stars. I think it’s a great quick read that mixes just enough Sci-Fi to not be overwhelmly to someone who doesn’t normally read Sci-fi. I would hope that element would not deter someone from reading because it’s a great read.

Rosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around. She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

Website : Twitter : Instagram : Facebook


GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win a signed hardcopy of TARNISHED ARE THE STARS by Rosiee Thor (US Only)

Stars: 15th October 2019
Ends: 29th October 2019
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share on Google Plus

About Jen

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

2 comments:

  1. Interesting how a believable (non-ista-love) relationship was able to be built up in a shorter book. Sounds like it was handled really well.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for sharing. The cover is lovely and the story interesting. Best wishes on the new book.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.