Third Degree by Julie Cross #BlogTour #BookReview #Giveaway



THIRD DEGREE
A New Adult Contemporary Romance
By Julie Cross
Release is March 25, 2014
Published by Flirt (Imprint of Random House)


Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Advance praise for Third Degree

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series


Third Degree by Julie Cross is an interesting and unique read from the New Adult genre. With a focus more on the main character than just the romance.

At first I didn’t like Isabella. She reminded me a lot of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory, only the girl version. She’s very know it all and harsh when she speaks to patients. You can tell she hasn’t had a lot of interaction with people socially. Her character really develops through the book, sometimes she resistant to change but I think the more she sees herself through others eyes the more she starts to figure out that maybe she does need more social experiences. I really like her by the middle of the book and was rooting for her.

Marshall comes off as a really good guy. They mention he used to be the life of the party but then settled down this year when he becomes and RA. I really liked his relationship with Izzy. There is chemistry there but also cautiousness. I like how things move slow for them because it wouldn’t make sense any other way. Plus Marshall has a great support system with his family and I love when he consults his sisters on things. It’s very cute.

I’m on of those people who gets super excited when a book, movie, etc.. takes place in my area. So I loved that when Izzy is talking about Evanston and NIU I knew what she was talking about. Although I don’t think she calls it NIU anywhere in the book. So I loved the setting but that’s because I know the setting so it was fun to read.

If I hadn’t bonded with this book from the location already when Crohn's Disease comes into the picture I was completely invested. I have Ulcerative Colitis which is kind of the little sister/brother to Crohn's. Both chronic with similar symptoms but Crohns infects more of the intestinal tract then UC. I was actually at my worst when I was in college, even on 60mg of Prednisone at times. So when Third Degree starts talking about it, I got excited. Even ran down to tell my husband. You will never believe what this book is talking about!! There’s a part of me that wants to just spill facts all over this review but that would be pretty boring. lol. The only thing that frustrated and disappointed me was they kept saying puking instead of pooping. That’s what makes IBD (Irritable Bowel Disease) so embarrassing and why when I was in college did my best to hide it because I was so embarrassed. So that took away a little for me. Probably a little thing and I don’t think someone that doesn’t have the disease would pay as much attention, just me. It’s a shitty (ha ha) disease.

Besides all that I really liked the story and thought it was unique. Izzy’s journey from being someone who didn’t really get a chance to socially adjust to who she becomes by the end of the book is fun to read. I also loved her relationship with Marshal. There are also side characters that influence who she is. Sam, Justin, Kelsey and even shirtless Carson. Well maybe shirtless Carson doesn’t make a huge impact but he’s a kindred spirit in a way. I liked how she doesn’t evolve just as a person but her relationships with these people evolve as well.

I really liked how the relationship of Izzy and Marshal is important to the story but doesn’t trump all. This book has a lot of growth for the main character and she really is the focus. It’s an enjoyable New Adult read.

Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

   

(1) Flirt Tote Bag and (1) Flirt Coffee Mug
(1) $25.00 Gift Card to the Retailer of you choice
Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

1 comments:

  1. Thank you for reviewing THIRD DEGREE. How intersting you had a lot to connect with personally! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.