The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings #BlogTour #BookReview #Playlist #Giveaway

Make sure to follow along with the tour HERE


The Murder Complex
by Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: June 10 2014

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

   


Wow so The Murder Complex is unique for many reasons but I think the most is because of the main character Meadow. She is willing to do anything for her family, even kill. I mean literally. I feel like normally you would have an mc that would say something like that but be too kind at heart to follow through. Not Meadow, she lives in a world that won’t allow you to be soft and she is far from sheltered. She can be cold as much as she can be warm. She is such a kick butt heroine. She is strong and not afraid to die. Not really, her only fear in that respect is who would take care of her family. She is pretty selfless and I love how she dotes on her little sister.

Zephyr is also a pretty cool character. I love how sweet and adoring he can be. Of course on the flip side he has a darker shadow than most.

The fact that both MC’s have killed people takes away a certain amount of innocence that makes this story different. It’s something that can be huge to a personality. There is so much to these characters, they are survivors to the fullest extent of the word.

The world created in The Murder Complex is dark. There is something called the Dark Time when most of the murders happen. Plus just the way that you have to get a job and obtain rations is crazy. I think this is probably one of the worst dystopian worlds I have ever read, not in bad writing but as in wow I would not want to live there. I thought that Lindsay did an awesome job of creating not only the visual in my head but the feeling of what it’s like to live there. Scary is all I can say over and over again.

This book is really good and I’m having a hard time finding a way to describe it without giving too much away. I loved the mystery part of it and honestly sometimes I would think I had something figured out, I would be wrong. There are lots of things that surprised me. When I first started reading the book was interesting but a little slower, once Meadow and Zephyr meet for real things get crazy. I couldn't put it down and had to know what they were going to uncover next.

The romance is light but good. I enjoyed it. Nobody is flimsily throwing the l word around like it has no meaning. There are intense things that happen to Meadow and Zephyr but they still have a strange pull towards one another.

Cliffhanger? Yes. Appropriate? Absolutely. I couldn't picture this book ending any other way. If people mounted white horses and rode off into the sunset that would be totally wrong for this book.

If you are looking for something a little darker that involves some serious mystery uncovering look no further. I highly recommend picking up The Murder Complex, I really enjoyed it. It's something that I continued to turn over in my head days after. I can't wait to read more from Lindsay!

I had some fun making this playlist. I originally was picking really heavy music but mixed some other stuff in. It's a book about murder remember. These are the reasons I picked some of the songs.

1. You're Going Down - Sick Puppies
I felt like this is the perfect song for Meadow. She's pretty kick-ass and this song describes that.

2. Kiss with a Fist - Florence and the Machine
Meadow and Zephyr's third meeting. The one they actually talk to eachother

3. Murder - Justin Timberlake
I felt like I should have a song with murder in the title

4. Titanium - David Guetta feat. Sia
A song about surviving because that is what everyone is this book is

5. Brave - Idina Menzel
I like this because it's more of a stop living for everyone else and live for yourself kind of thing

6. Won't go Quietly - Company of Thieves
For Meadow and the end of the book. Gives me chills when I put the images in my head and the song together




Lindsay Cummings is the 20-year-old author of THE MURDER COMPLEX, as well as its sequel, coming 2014 from Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins, and the MG trilogy THE BALANCE KEEPERS, coming Fall 2014 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins.

Lindsay deals with chronic fatigue, can’t get enough of her two pesky German Shepherds, wolf cub, and two horses. She's still waiting on her letter from Hogwarts--it was probably just lost in the mail. You can follow Lindsay on twitter @lindsaycwrites
   




Share on Google Plus

About Jen S

I love books, tea/coffee(by the gallon) and sour candy. I wear my nerd badge with pride and have two children ages 5 and 3 that keep me on my toes.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment

6 comments:

  1. Awesome review!! I had all of the same feels, and you put it into words so much better! After reading it I kept thinking if I'd be able to handle a world like that, and in short uh-uh. I couldn't cut it! I need more of this world though.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I honestly cannot think of a method to kill! I'm terrified of knives (anything sharp, really) and guns! I'd have to go the girly way of poison I suppose!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment! When you leave one I make sure to stop back to your blog if you have one.